isopopla.blogg.se

Malgudi days tv series
Malgudi days tv series










malgudi days tv series
  1. MALGUDI DAYS TV SERIES SERIAL
  2. MALGUDI DAYS TV SERIES SERIES

Swami’s Friend- Rajam lived in a huge bungalow. Given the setting of pre-independence days in the serial, it was obvious for a Bangalore based director to be inspired to borrow the school logo from here.Ĭ. It was easy for me to point it out as my brother happens to be an alumnus of the 150+ years old ‘St. Although I am unable to locate the structure that housed ‘Albert Mission School’ in the series, I sure know where the School logo ‘Fide Et Labore’ featured in it came from. We still need to look at several other structures that have been featured in the serial.ī. The ‘Doddamane’ in Agumbe perhaps is what was Swami’s house. This is an 8-episode long story and is one of the most iconic part of the series. Episode (serial) name: Swami and his friends.Ī. The old dilapidated temple that the Old man- Krishna Bhattar’s spirit lived in the episode is the ‘Thimmarayaswamy temple at Bettadadasanapura’ on the outskirts of Bangalore.Ģ. Ofcourse, Sheshadri and his friends are seen sitting on a platform of a tree that is present even today, at the town centre of Agumbe.ī. Here, starts my quest to map the locations of Malgudi, spread across the state of Karnataka.Ī.

malgudi days tv series

The truth is, it is applicable to anyone anywhere across the world. It being located in Southern India is only half truth. The episode opens with the author R.K.Narayanan himself telling that Malgudi is a fictitious town.

malgudi days tv series

Episode name: Oldman of the temple- Mandir ka budda You too can contribute your findings and let us unravel the mysterious locations of the old-timer 😊ġ.

MALGUDI DAYS TV SERIES SERIAL

So, here are my relative screenshots from the serial and photos of the landmarks, as they stand today. ‘Armchair travelling’ is a fancy outcome of being locked down by the pandemic and that got me to travel through my home-state Karnataka and map some of the heritage structures that have been featured in the classic ‘Malgudi days’. I also started to take note that all were not in Shimoga. As I continued to watch the episodes, what started to intrigue me were the familiarity with several places featured in the episodes. From what established a cult in Indian cinema, I am keen on taking a trip down the streets of Shankar Nag’s Malgudi because that is what I grew up watching.īased entirely out of Karnataka, the rural setting, the culture and top-of-the-notch actors were totally relatable for me as I watched it. Banking in on its popularity, the other 15 episodes were later directed by Kavita Lankesh in 2016. The popular serial telecast in the late 1980s comprised of 39 episodes shot and directed by Late.Shankarnag. One of the trains too is named as the ‘Malgudi Express’ by the Southern railways. However, since most of the episodes were predominantly shot in and around Shimoga, the present-day railway station at Arasalu (near Shimoga) is named as the ‘Malgudi station’ in honour of the famous serial. While some claim that Agumbe was the ‘Malgudi town’ and there exists a ‘Malgudi house’, nobody really knows where the entire ‘Malgudi days’ serial was shot. That’s why I chose to start with Malgudi days.

MALGUDI DAYS TV SERIES SERIES

Not to fall into the fancy of the latest trending series on OTT platforms, I preferred to catch up on some old classics that were a hit on Doordarshan, back in the days of my childhood. This has given me some time to indulge in watching some series online. My terrace is too hot to go out in this hot summer month. I’m not a TV person but sitting in a spot for video conferences all day (for work) gets me worked up sometimes. The unfortunate lockdown that the pandemic has brought has sure got the netizens busy.












Malgudi days tv series